Research Ethics Board

Introduction

In 2001, three federal research agencies, the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council (NSERC), the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council (SSHRC) and the Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR), jointly created the Interagency Advisory Panel on Research Ethics (PRE) as part of a collaborative effort to promote the ethical conduct of research involving human participants.

The PRE examines when the) Tri-Council Policy Statement: Ethical Conduct for Research Involving Humans , or "TCPS 2 ," should be applied, and reviews the goals and rationale of the policy. It defines the guiding ethical principles of the TCPS. It discusses the way these principles are applied in practice and introduces the relationship between the TCPS and the law.

The TCPS document replaces SSHRC's Ethics Guidelines for Research with Human Subjects, the Medical Research Council (MRC) Guidelines on Research Involving Humans, and MRC's Guidelines for Research on Somatic Cell Gene Therapy in Humans. An electronic version of the TCPS is available for your review. All protocols submitted to the Board must be consistent with these guidelines.

As a consequence, all research involving human subjects at the Royal Military College (RMC) of Canada or elsewhere conducted by or administered to RMC students, post-doctorate fellows, staff and faculty must be reviewed to assess its compliance with the TCPS. The Research Ethics Board (REB) of RMC has been established to review all research conducted at or for the College that involves humans.

No research with human subjects should begin and no money shall be distributed prior to receiving approval from the Research Ethics Board

The REB Graduate Studies Committee Members

Member Name Telephone E-mail
CHAIR - RMC Department of Military Psychology and Leadership Dr. Sarah Hill 613.541.6000, ext 6017 sarah.hill@rmc.ca
Deputy Chair - RMC TBD TBD TBD TBD
Member - RMC Department of History Dr. Michael Hennessy 613.541.6000, ext 3603 hennessy-m@rmc.ca
Member - RMC Department of Political Science Maj Pierre Lepine 613.541.6000, ext 6645 pierre.lepine@rmc.ca
Member - RMC Department of Management and Economics Dr. William Graham 613.541.6000, ext 6152 graham-w@rmc.ca
Member - RMC Department of Military Psychology and Leadership Dr. Danielle Charbonneau 613.541.6000, ext 6635 charbonneau-d@rmc.ca
Member - RMC Department of English Maj Andy Belyea 613.541.6000, ext 6269 andy.belyea@rmc.ca
Community Member Mr. Ron Wulf   ron.wulf@r2analytics.ca

The REB Undergraduate Studies Committee Members

Member Name Telephone E-mail
CHAIR - RMC Department of Military Psychology and Leadership Dr Bob St John 613.541.6000, ext 3696 stjohn-r@rmc.ca
Member - RMC Department of English Dr Huw Osborne 613.541.6000, ext 6269 huw.osborne@rmc.ca
Member - RMC Department of Military Psychology and Leadership LCdr Robbie Francis 613.541.6000, ext 6966 robbie.francis@rmc.ca

The Administrative Officer of the REB Graduate Studies and Research Division can be reached at 613.541.6000, extension 3728.

Note - No research involving animals is performed at RMCC.

Date modified: